Welcoming Tomorrow’s Manufacturing Professionals: Highlights from the WCOMP Partner Meeting 5/22/24

On May 22, 2024, the WCOMP Partners meeting meeting kicked off with a warm welcome by Lew Modic, and Jason Hoffman from Buckeye Educational Systems presented on the Rockwell Automation Academy, highlighting their contributions to advanced manufacturing education. See slide below.

A highlight of the meeting was the scholarship presentation. This year marks WCOMP’s third year of awarding scholarships to graduating seniors pursuing careers in manufacturing. The number of applicants has grown significantly, from six in 2022 to 31 this year. Five $1,000 scholarships were awarded to outstanding students, each demonstrating remarkable achievements and dedication to their studies and extracurricular activities.

2024 Scholarship Award Winners

• Jennova DeBrosse (Shawnee High School) will study electrical engineering at The Ohio State University. She excelled in tennis, music, and academics, being a top scorer in the Ohio Math League and a participant in the Science Olympiad.

• Brandt Homan (Marion Local High School) plans to pursue electrical engineering at the University of Dayton. He is a scholar-athlete and has received numerous academic awards in subjects ranging from world history to advanced algebra.

• Andrew Eyink (Coldwater High School) will study mechanical engineering at the University of Dayton. Andrew’s accolades include leadership awards, participation in varsity sports, and active involvement in student clubs and 4H.

• Alayna Prenger (Minster High School) will also pursue mechanical engineering, but at the University of Cincinnati. Alayna has been recognized for her academic excellence, leadership in youth clubs, and participation in sports.

• Josh Rindler (St. Henry High School) plans to study mechanical engineering at the University of Cincinnati. Josh has received all-academic awards in golf and track and field, and he is active in the band, science club, and student council.

The meeting concluded with plans for future gatherings, with the next directors’ meeting on July 17, 2024, and the partners’ meeting on July 31, 2024.